Monday, October 3, 2011

Persimmon Ice Cream any one?

Fall! You came out of no where!

I feel like I woke up one morning and there you were freezing me out of my bed! There was no warning, the leaves haven't started changing colours. The cicadas still sing, the mosquitoes still bite. What the heck?

And where are all the pumpkins? I want those large orange bulbous masses to erupt from the ground!

Alas, Japan... you tease me. pumpkins are green, here. Only maple leaves change colours and they aren't ready to do that yet... BUT man oh, MAN is it cold in the morning and to top it off... I have to bike to the train station... frick n' frack. burr!

There is this whole weird thing Japan does, too. All the vending machines dispense hot cans of coffee. No joke.  Went to the grocery store the other night and was waiting in line and typically where the cooler to buy a bottle of Coke is, there was hot cans of coffee! heat was emanating out of the "cooler" and at the train station... out of curiosity sake I bought a can of coffee late and it was hot!

Would that work in the States? Probably not. Some idiot would try to sue the vending company for their coffee can being too hot. Which isnt the case here.. its pleasantly warm even when you are taken aback by the concept of a warmed can in your hand.

Back home, friends are picking apples and canning delicious recipes... I am sooo jealous! BUT guess what I can pick in Japan? Persimmons! Figs! Kiwi! Oranges!  So... maybe I can't have apple cider... which sucks big time, but I can make persimmon ice cream... and fig jam and... and stuff my face full of oranges and kiwi! So.. I will report on how all that goes but in the mean time, I had better get back to work.

Ciao!

No comments:

Post a Comment