I have a slight "aruugi" (aka allergy) to MSG. Lovingly called Ajinomoto (more tasty) here in Japan. It means that I cant eat at most restaurants without some sort of reaction because they sneak it into everything. Don't get me started on ramen. Forget about it. Went out with a few of the apartment mates for ramen one night and left feeling slightly swollen and incredibly sleepy. Later that night, I passed out upon returning home, I found it painful to close my fingers into a fist. gah.. no fun.
So... needless to say, I seldom eat out and am usually stuck cooking most of my meals. Which is fine. I love cooking. And here is the meat of my post! I made Japanese curry (カリー) from scratch! BOO YEA!
Ok, so maybe your not as excited as I am. I grew up on curry rice but I always had a slight reaction to the MSG and while living in Japan, curry is every where but I cant eat it! they add MSG ontop of the MSG! Its even in their pickles! Frrrrrrruuuuuuuhhhhhhh!!!!!
So last night, in a fit to get things cooked in my fridge, I went to work scraping together most of the ingredients found in curry and making the roux with spices I have picked up here and there. It wasnt perfect but it was delicious and far less greasy than the roux blocks you get at the store or the dishes they serve in the restaurants. I'll probably give the recipe a quick touch up before I post and this time, I wont be so hungry as to eat it all before taking a pic.
So keep a heads up for a recipe post.
Oh.... and maybe a fig picking post! and then... a fig jam post.... oh the possiblities....
I've started to name the fish.
ReplyDelete