Monday, August 29, 2011

When things go wrong...

So, it was one of those weekends.

Everything was going great, saw Wicked, got some shopping done (let me say, I didn't realize how much I missed being close to a mall till I stepped into Hakata city on Saturday). Yea, I was pretty content with things even the language barrier. Then Sunday happened and I had one of those moments.

Sunday, trying to clean up the apartment, making a list groceries and necessities, jamming to music belting out of my computer.... then ... nothing. Maybe the battery had died, I thought. It had been playing for a while. I plugged in the adapter, pressed the start up button and... gray screen... gray screen with apple icon... do not enter sign... flashing icons... do not enter and folder with question mark....

Oh.. s***!!!!!!!

My heart sank. All my data wasn't backed up b/c I have no internet. My external died and I was waiting to buy a new one with the next paycheck.... ``just need to go to the Genius bar`` I thought.

``In JAPAN! AND I DON'T SPEAK JAPANESE!!!!``
 I threw myself onto my bed (thankfully its western so I can say it and mean on a piece of furniture a foot and a half off the ground, instead of on the floor)

Is that a dramatic enough scene for you? I don't have to go into detail about how I sorta wandered a bit not knowing what to do... randomly breaking into tears?  Ok. good. I wont go there. Sunday ended with me calling another JET I had met during Tokyo Orientation and chatting about other things like cooking, school and students. He threw in a few jokes and I ended the night with the newest episode of Dr. Who. Things would be better in the morning. I thought.

Monday

Monday meant someone was coming to my house to take away the huge fish tank left in my apartment by my predecessor. I had cleaned up the apartment while in a daze from the computer mishap...so... I got to school pulled out my wallet and realized my foreigners card was missing! Ok. No problem. I had taken it out the day before to prepare for my internet service order. Its got to be on the table.

Fast forward to the end of the day. (it was boring, there`s not much to say about it anyway. Kids are on vacation)  Step off the train, go to the bike parking and..... where`s my bike?
No bike.. No bike... bike is nowhere to be seen....
Walk home, someone will be by at 5:30 for the fish tank.. walked home and made it there at 5. Open the door, look on the table... no foreigners card..
NO FOREIGNER CARD!!!
Ok... Ok... its somewhere. Got to be.  Scrabble through papers, purse, backpack...
BUZZZzz.
Fish tank collector is here!
``No English.``
Uh..``Nihongo.. sukoshi...``
``blah. blah. blah...``
`` oh.. god... Chotto matte kudasai.``  Run to get my neighbor (Pollyanna) who knows much more Japanese than she lets on at first. 

Ok, things were settled, fish tank was taken. I got paid 10 bucks or so which is great because that thing with fish and a running generator made my electricity bill exorbitant.  that 1000 yen covered a big portion of the expense.  (I threw the fish into the river, Thursday. I had that blog on the now deceased computer)

``Ok... (Pollyanna), I cant find my Gajin card.``
Luckily, after a bit of searching.. we found it... You know where it was? In my rubbish. Yes, I had, in my cleaning, thrown away my card into the slimy refuse of food scraps.  Gross  you say? Yes, it was gross... and smelly.... and now, even after washing it, my purse smells. 
ok... Now, try to find the bike. Walk back to the station and low and behold... there in a spot I never am in.. is my bike. Yay! On my way home.. I passed the drug store (Walgreen's-ish) and you know what I did? I went in bought a bottle of pop and a bag of chocolate covered biscuits and rode home.

I ate a whole bag of chocolate biscuits (10 nibble size cookies) and soda for dinner...
And fell asleep with the wrappers littered all over my bed.

So, there you have it. My moment.

And no, the world did not end and while I wait to see the final conclusion to what is wrong with my computer... things really aren't THAT bad. But that doesn't stop me from feeling a bit on the negative side. So, I do my thing, rant, rave and complain and now I feel better. And you all had to read about it, so there.

Sorry. Promise for better notes another day.

1 comment: