Ok.. I cant wait to show pictures but until internet is installed in my apartment, you all will just have to use your imaginations.
Between the various moments of down time, I have been trying to figure out what to write for this next post. Obviously, I have been doing a lot and there is a lot I want to tell everyone but... its just exhausting to type out one story and think.. wait..what was the other thing I wanted to talk about?
So, maybe I should warn you.. this one will be a long one. I`m going to try to describe my adventures in Japan with my newly realized, gigantic family.
There are three families I have in Japan. My jutaku family, which is the group of native English speakers that live in my apartment building. They are great because some have been here for a year or two and know how to get around, everyone has varying levels of Japanese so, theres always someone you can drag to the store, bank, post office, and today to get my cell phone! Then, there is the school family. The cute bunch of teachers who wont really talk to you b/c their nervous about their English but they want to drag you places and see you eat Japanese food. Lastly, there is my real Japanese family. The ones who are related to me by blood. These are the people who show me off to their friends, pamper me with compliments and guide me through all my social blunders. (after laughing for a good long time about it, first)
The jutaku is a great place to live, even if it is a very old building and my apartment needs daily cleaning. Everyone who lives there is friendly and helpful. My neighbor is a new ALT, like me and is from Singapore. She`s great for so many reasons but mostly, because she is like my own personal PollyAnna. Everytime I complain about something not working out the way I think it should, she comes up with something to be glad about. For example, I came home in a dither the other day because my predessesor left homework for me to grade from May!!! I was frustrated and confused as to how I was supposed to grade something like this. As I complained to my neighbor about this, she said, `You know, I envy you. Your school teachers will be so happy to have a teacher who will be more on top of things this year.` I had to stop for a moment mid-rant, she had made a very good point and I couldnt really continue to complain after that.
No one is really in school right now, its vacation but on days when there is someone more than the Kyoto-sensei (vice principal). Someone always is there to say hello. Ask me a question or two about my adjustment to living in Japan or offer me some sort of sweet confection. I need to get a toothbrush.
My Japanese family.. is huge. This past weekend was Obon (where you honor those that have passed). I took the train from my apartment to Fukuma, about a hour and half train ride. My cousin Koichi, his wife Kazuko, and their son, Mitsuki met me at the station. After a large bowl of cold ramen, (there are a million names for ramen, sooo.. I dont remember what it was called), we visited a temple with the largest rope in Japan. And let me tell you, it was LARGE. Next the house of Itoh Denemon. A coal mine financier, who built an elaborate tea garden and home for his second wife, a famous poet. The house is elaborate, with the first known indoor plumbing and some western influences. It was built... in the late 19th early 20th century. ( The translations were sparse so that`s all I have on that) Anyway, it was beautiful.
It was nearly dinner time then, so we drove over to Koichi`s father, Mitsuo`s, house. He is the patriarch of the family and well... EVERYONE came over to his house for Obon and to see the American cousin. It was a lot of people.... Dinner was HUGE! With Sushi, sashimi, Fried Chicken, a variety of veggies.. ooh... my tummy just grumbled thinking about it. At 8pm, it was time for Obon. A the house of the next door neighbor a bunch of people had gathered, some were dancing in a circle around a taiko drum. There was traditional music being played and someone periodically beating on the drum. I dont know many of the dances but my Grandmother`s was the tankobushi so, when it came on... I got thrown into the circle of dancing people. Mmmm... yea... It was a fun night but those crazy people dance till the crack of dawn and I had to be up early. Koichi and family were taking me to Hiroshima to go sightseeing.
End Part 1
That sounds delightful, we can't wait to see pictures when you get internet access. I can just see you dancing the tankobushi. Grandma would have smiled.
ReplyDeleteSounds awesome! I should start using Google translate to figure out some of these other phrasings.
ReplyDeleteI can't wait to see pictures!! I was worried your camera wasn't working!
2 points for also using the word 'dither' in a sentence. :)
<3
ReplyDeleteUm, if there was any marking left on my desk, it is from a test lesson which I gave with Seto. We didn't ever intend for it to be marked, so that is why it hasn't been. K
ReplyDeleteOh no, K I was referring to the one who left me with a fish tank full o fish!!! I had a lot of work and expectations when I went to the other school.
ReplyDelete