Monday, November 7, 2011

Ok, lets play catch up! (or ketchup if you prefer)

Woah... Where has the time gone? How has it been so long since my last post?

Ok what have I been up too... Hummmm...


The thing about not being able to speak the same language as 98% of all the people around you is that you spend a lot of time in your brain, deciphering the conversations happening in the present and toying with the questions I will inevitably have to face when I decide to leave Japan.

The mess in my brain kinda sounds like this:
What are your long term goals? Do you have any? What about short term? What do you want in your life?
How is everyone doing back home?
Oh... I think Kyoto sensei just said something about university and 3rd years... there must be an exam coming up.
Ok.. now I dont know whats going on... it sounded like he/she said pizza ......
Shoot! did I turn off the stove this morning? Man, I really miss having an oven... I want to bake some bread... oh... Pumpkin bread....
Shoot, whats today? Oh.. that's gold.. its Friday... Ugh crud... what do I have to do at the other school on Monday?
hrm... maybe I can make pumpkin bread in the toaster oven.... What kind of job am I going to get when I go back to the States?
Damn, I miss apple picking....

Yeah.. my brain is kinda like that. One big mess of thoughts smooshed together into a messy 3 or 4 minutes while life around me is in gear.

Its amazing how I get by in this country, when I've no clue what is being said to me. I've convinced the people I work with that I am really good at understanding and terrible at speaking. This is  not true. I have very little idea about the words being spoken to me. However, I am very good at observing the non-spoken part of the language and deciphering from there the topic at hand. Maybe we can call it mind reading. I'm really good at mind reading... ;)

ANYWAY, What have I been up too... lets see here.

Visit to Mt Aso, the active volcano on the island where I reside, again. This time I mostly hiked in national park nearby. It was gorgeous with all the waterfalls. I would recommend it. And dont worry, as soon as my computer has a brand new hard drive, I will post pictures in this blog. It will be easier to explain everything with a picture. After that little bit of exercise and the most awesome dango (mochi or pounded rice cake on a stick, trust me.. dEEElish!), my friend, her principal (he drove us to the area and treated us to lunch and dinner, pretty nice guy actually) and I toured around Kumamoto castle. It was rebuilt recently so, nothing of an ancient structure remains but it was beautiful none the less. I enjoyed the walk and the architecture, and the Japanese garden nearby. We finished the day with a ginormous traditional meal that I can't really describe. It was just a lot of little sample sized food, so that by the time your done nibbling at all that has been laid in front of you, you feel like you might explode out of your pants. I truely wonder how Japanese people are so skinny.

To be continued... (sorry, my brain is outta juice.)

No comments:

Post a Comment